15 Things I’ve Learned in 2015

Hi friends,

Hope you’re doing well and that on the second of January you are still consistent with your New Year’s resolutions! In case you were wondering, no I didn’t make it a New Year’s resolution to blog more. But none the less, you get two blog posts within a span of two months. Yay! Anyway, let’s get down to the nitty gritty of this blog post. 15 things I’ve learned in 2015. A lot of these things I’m still learning, but I thought it would be good to do some reflection. And hey, if you benefit even the slightest from my reflection, even better.

  1. I can’t do it alone-  This year, God has taught me the importance of relying on Him and relying on the people He has placed in my life. This has been both a rewarding and humbling experience. One cool example of this, is how He used my Statistics class to develop solid friendships in my life. I absolutely hate math, but I had to take one more math class( even though I was terrified it would wreck my GPA). Thankfully, God brought three friends in my life who were willing to help me learn Statistics. These friends not only helped me to pass the class, but they also brought so much joy to my semester and taught me so many things.
  2. Cheesecake cupcakes are the bombdigitty– Click here for yumminess
  3. I should do things my future self will thank me for – An example of this. I am not a morning person. Anyone who knows me well knows not to talk to me until I’ve had my coffee. However, on Wednesday mornings I started going to morning prayer with my friend Brittany and it has increased my passion for prayer and has helped me to grow in my relationship with God. I am very thankful my past self decided to get up early and stay consistent with it.
  4. Camp counseling is an amazing way to learn to rely on God- I wouldn’t have been able to work this 6wk 24/7 hr job without Him.
  5. Have courage and be kind- Thanks Cinderella movie for that wise advice.
  6. Libraries are magical places– I’ve always loved libraries. But it wasn’t until this year that I really have appreciated having one on campus. Between the smell and all the spots for quiet seclusion, it’s an introvert’s dream.
  7. It’s okay to be myself. People will still like me. And if they don’t, they’re not worth my time– It wasn’t until this year that I was comfortable being myself( and I’m still working on this). I find myself socially awkward, weird, too quiet…the list of flaws could go on and on. In 2014, I tried to mask my true self by being as outgoing as possible. But my friendships felt shallow and I wore myself out. This year, funny enough, by being the person I thought nobody would like( myself) I have made or rediscovered the best friends I’ve ever had. And they actually like me for who I am( mind boggling I know).
  8. Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers is poppin’– That means cool. This little devotional has been a great help in my personal walk.
  9. It’s okay to take time for myself– I don’t always have to be  out and about pleasing  other people or getting things done. If I want to sit at home and draw, I can.
  10. Graham Cooke knows where it’s at– His sermon’s are pretty long, but even taking 30 minutes to listen to them really boosts my spirit. Check him out at Graham Cooke
  11. Dance parties are key to relieving stress– With friends, by yourself, just get up and get movin’. I particularly like groovin to Where Are U Now ( Yeah with Justin Beiber. Don’t judge)
  12. Planners are key to success– I honestly don’t know how I would have been able to keep my year in line if I didn’t have a planner. This helps me get all my school stuff done and make sure that I have time for friends.
  13. God’s not finished with me yet– I don’t have to learn everything all at once. He’s more patient than I’ll ever be, so it’s okay if I don’t get everything right the first time. The key is to constantly remain teachable so God can continue to mold and shape me.
  14. I need to trust in God, even when I don’t understand– This is honestly something that I’m still learning and will continue to learn the rest of my life. There are a lot of things that I don’t understand. But, especially recently, God’s been teaching me that the most important thing to understand is the importance of abiding in Him.
  15. In my weakness God is made strong– This is something quite recently that I’ve been learning and will definitely carry over into 2016. So often, I feel that my weakness are things to be ashamed of. But God’s been teaching me that they are actually vital to my growth in Him. My weaknesses are constant reminders that I can’t do it alone and that I’m not meant to do it alone. I’m meant to do life with my amazing Heavenly Father who cares deeply about the intimate details of my life. And I’m excited to see how He continues to teach me to rely on Him.

Hope you have a fantastic 2016! I’ll talk to you guys again soon, hopefully.

❤ Rach

