Stretched Like Taffy( Or 5 Things I’m Learning in College)

Hey everyone,

I haven’t blogged in awhile! Right now I’m at a Christian college in the South and God has been teaching me so much. I haven’t had much time to sit down and blog, but I felt led to take a couple minutes to share what God’s been teaching me.

1. Crave God 

This has come up so often. My eyes often stray from God, and He has to constantly remind me to seek Him and not the approval of other people. Actually, for one of my classes I discussed this in a class devotional. I talked about how we should be like the deer David talks about in Psalm 42:1-2, ” As a deer longs for streams of water, so I long for You, God. I thirst for God, the living God. When can I come and appear before God?”. If this is something you struggle with, I’d highly recommend reading Made to Crave Lysa TerKeurst. Although she writes this primarily to ladies, guys you can definitely gain something from this book as well! It’s all about eliminating anything that gets in between us and our relationship with God.

2. Wait on the Lord 

I tend to have a problem with contentment. I’m always striving and desiring for the next thing, but God’s been teaching me that it’s important just to enjoy the moment. Life goes by so fast and moments are so fleeting, so I should savor every minute. A speaker at my college once said that “waiting is warfare”. This is so incredibly true, especially for me. It’s so difficult for me to be okay with waiting, but waiting often brings out the most incredible things. I can’t wait to see how God continues to grow me in this area.

3. Balance 

You know that Beetles song that goes, ” I need a little help from my friends…”?  Well that’s definitely been the case for me. I’ve shared with my friends that I need help balancing my social life with my school work( I tend to get so engrossed in my school work that I become a hermit), so they helped me establish a time limit for getting my work done, and they help me take time to hang out.

4. Accountability/Community is Important 

This one kind of expands on the previous point. As I’ve been at school, community has just happened naturally. I’ve been learning to share more with the friends I trust about what’s going on in my life. It could be something a bit silly, or more serious, but I’ve tried to be more intentional about sharing what’s going on in my life with my friends.

5. Last Point: Reflection is Important 

Writing this blog has helped remind me that it’s important to reflect on how God’s working in my life. It’s sometimes all too easy to forget how God’s working in my life. It’s important to sometimes take time to see how God’s working in your life.

