Poor in Spirit

Not that long ago- maybe a month or so- my Dad and I were having a theological

discussion in the car. He asked me the question, ” What does it mean to

be poor in spirit.” Referring to the Sermon on the Mount(Read up on

it Mathew 5:1-12). Just last night the Holy Spirit revealed to me what it means.

To be poor in spirit is to accept, and acknowledge your weakness. Those who do 

this are blessed because it says in 2 Corinthians 12:9, ” My Grace is sufficient to for you,

for my power is made perfect in weakness.” When we fully accept our weakness we are

allowing God’s power to be perfected in us, and thus reap the benefits. We need to humble

ourselves before God, and I believe He will reward us for that.

 

Summary: Don’t think you’re ‘all that’. Allow God to work through your weakness

to accomplish what you could never do without Him.

