UNplugged

Unplugged. How many of us even know that word besides to unplug 

our laptops/ ipods/phones/cameras from the charger and continue

to travel with them elsewhere. Today is ending on day 2 of no social

media and no television and I have to say it has been freeing and

difficult at the same time. You see our generation expresses themselves

through technology. In fact you could even say that our generation lives

through technology. So how does that effect our Faith? Well, it does more

then most people realize. Paul urges us not to conform any longer

to the patterns of this world but be transformed by the renewing of our minds.

Then, he tells us, we will be able to understand God’s good, pleasing, and perfect will.

Romans 12:2.I think sometimes social media and other electronics, while they can

be used as tools( I am blogging from a computer after all) should be used in moderation

in order to fully be in tune with the Holy Spirit and understand God’s plan for your life. 

I’m not saying that you should quit your

Facebook or Twitter account, because those can be used as a TOOL to build

relationships in real life. I’m saying that once that tool becomes an electronic play thing,

it is time to stop, step back, and examine how your time is being spent.

After this challenge I plan to reevaluate the time I spend on these social

media sites and come up with a time limit. I have a feeling that when

I do this God will find a better use of for my time.

