Do what you love to do

I don’t know what your favorite things to do are. Maybe you really like to hike

or read or cook. For me one of my favorite things to do is to bake. However, with

the business of school and other activities I haven’t found time. However,

after going to Bible study on Tuesday night I decided to take some time out of my

day and bake for my friend who was coming over.  Here’s why: As an urban small

group we’re working through this book called Feed My Sheep; Lead My Sheep: A

Handbook of Leadership Formation for Individuals and Groups by N. Thomas

Johnson-Medland.  This book focuses on the qualities of a leader by going

through the fruits of the Spirit( Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness,

Gentleness, and Self-Control) and the Beatitudes ( Mathew 5:3-11). Last week

we learned about peace. The ultimate Peace comes from Jesus alone and when

the busyness of our day tries to take away that peace we can always call on Him,

“Come to Me all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.”  Mathew 11:28

After we rely on Jesus to be our peace we also need to take time for things that we really enjoy doing,

because this will help you be able to accomplish the things you have to do. You obviously can’t spend

the whole day doing things that you love, because let’s face it, we all have to do things we don’t want to do,

but it’s important to set aside at least a little time to do things we enjoy.

I decided to take this thought to heart. I took some time off from school on Friday( I’m Homeschooled)

and decided to bless my friend with some cupcakes because it was her birthday. I’d forgotten how much

I enjoyed baking and it was really great to be able to do it again.

Image
To make the vanilla icing( 1/2 cup soft butter, 4 cups powdered sugar, and 1/4 cup milk, mix with an electric mixer until desired consistency) For the green color 2 food coloring drops green to 2 drops blue and for the orange 10 drops red to 5 drops yellow.

